CSS problem with new diaspora installation ubuntu 16.04 xenial

My page from localhost come like this , the style sheet not works it seams if my observation is correct, please help me , I am a beginner

• How to rectify this problem?
1 Like

I’m pretty new at this too, so this maybe too basic of troubleshooting for your problem.
Are you running in development mode? The assets aren’t precompiled in dev mode, afaik.

Do you try to install a development pod (because you access it via localhost)? It looks like you started it in production mode. When you want to install a production pod, you need a webserver that serves the static files.

That is wrong, assets don’t need to be precompiled in dev mode, they are served via the app server. In prod mode you need to precompile them and serve them via a webserver.

Hai,
I am running in production mode:

this is the line I executed

$ RAILS_ENV=production bin/rake assets:precompile
$ Then I got this prompt back without any message

Hai,
Yes, I started in production mode I think, do I have to start in development mode?

this is the line I executed

$ RAILS_ENV=production bin/rake assets:precompile
$ Then I got this prompt back without any message

in my diaspora.xml file , this is the setting

Rails environment (default=‘development’).

## The environment in which the server should be started by default.
## Change this to 'production' if you wish to run a production environment.
**rails_environment: 'production'**

when I changed to rails_environment: ‘development’

while running :
./script/server

The following error is comming:

bundler: failed to load command: unicorn (/home/diaspora/diaspora/vendor/bundle/ruby/2.3.0/bin/unicorn)

What to do to resolve it?

Ok, I may need some support, I an going to do it, setting the webserver, apache2 will be fine right?

I mean, if you want to use something old like apache.
I use the newness, nginx.
It doesn’t work, but it’s new.