Installing diaspora* 0.7.7.0 on SmartOS/Illumos/Solaris

Hello.

Background:

I have finally decided to bring up a new pod on my own infrastrucure, which happens to be SmartOS. SmartOS is based on Illumos, which in turn is forked from OpenSolaris, an open-source version of Solaris that formed the basis for Solaris 11 (Oracle closed the doors on the OpenSolaris project after acquiring Sun).

I followed the installation instructions for Centos 6 (since it seemed fairly generic), and apart from needing to patch sigar.c in the kostya-sigar gem (added && !defined(__sun) ), everything worked fine. Database is set up, assets precompiled. This is a production installation using MySQL, and the idea is to have diaspora* running behind a proxy (the proxy uses HTTPS on the outside, plain HTTP on the inside).

Note: I have no prior experience of working with Ruby, but I have worked in the Unix/Linux environment for many years (so I am very familiar with the platform).

Problem description:

When I try to start diaspora* with “script/server”, it enters what I would call a crash loop, and never enters a running state properly. It is sometimes possible to get the diaspora* start page to load in the browser, minus any assets (images, JS, styesheets), which never load.

Installed versions:

• diaspora* source version 0.7.7.0
  • ruby 2.4.5p335 (2018-10-18 revision 65137) [x86_64-solaris2.11]
  • curl 7.62.0 (with AsyncDNS)
  • rvm 1.29.4
  • redis-3.2.9nb1 (configured and running)
  • ImageMagick6-6.9.8.10
  • nodejs-8.1.2

Important part of the log output (this repeats forever):
https://pastebin.com/CgkiQhgy

Configuration
database.yml

diaspora.yml

Any help and/or pointers welcome.

Regards,

--lgt
1 Like

Uh, although this is a very unsupported environment, kudos for the nice report with all the information we could ask for! :cookie: