Problem storing User Assets in S3

Newbie here.

Trying to set up a pod all in AWS (ec2+postgress+s3, which I hope won’t be too expensive) and I’m running into trouble getting asset storage into s3.

I’ve manage to configure all the permissions/policies, and from ec2 instance shell, I can access and store to the s3 bucket (using awscli) but when trying to upload a picture via d*, I get 403 :frowning:

:host          => "mybucket.s3-us-east-2.amazonaws.com"
:local_address => "XX.XX.XX"
:local_port    => 54102
:path          => "/uploads/images/fdc5342c9b3c423243.jpg"
:port          => 443
:reason_phrase => "Forbidden"
:remote_ip     => "XX.XX.XX.XX"
:status        => 403
:status_line   => "HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden\r\n"

I’ve confirmed that the credentials in diaspora.yml are correct.

s3: ## Section
  enable: true
  key: 'MYKEY'
  secret: 'MY-SECRET'
  bucket: 'MY-BUCKET'
  region: 'us-east-2'

assets: ## Section
  #serve: false
  ## Upload your assets to S3 (default=false).
  upload: true
  ## Specify an asset host. Ensure it does not have a trailing slash (/).
  host: https://MY-BUCKET.s3.amazonaws.com

Any ideas?

P.S. I noticed the most recent s3 patch/upgrade, which I don’t think has to do with what I’m trying to do.

You are correct that the PR doesn’t have anything to do with your code base since it is a development branch that hasn’t been integrated. As you probably guessed a 403 error implies a permissions problem with those credentials for the operation that the code is performing. There were setup instructions for the user role for those credentials etc. I haven’t personally done them since I’ve never set up an S3 system but ironically am in the process of setting one up in Digital Ocean Spaces to test that patch you described. I had thought about going through and setting up AWS S3 as the initial pass to prove that works before working with the other things.