Questions about how federation works

I’m not 100% or not whether this falls in like with this particular issue, if it doesn’t, mods, please split to a new topic.

I’m unsure how federation works entirely, but I do know that when I look at my ‘Pod Network’, I have 111 pods that have no version, and 27 pods that return an error. In an effort for optimum security, I’d like to ask if federation actively removes potentially vulnerable pods from the federation network? I’m a Systems Administrator and Engineer and have spent over a decade working in the security field itself (not for an ego boost, but rather to show credibility). Federizing certain vulnerable networks might possibly garner a security vulnerability across the entire federized network.

Again, I don’t know a great deal about how this federization works, so if I’m totally off base, just ignore me :slight_smile:

[Edit: Thanks for the move Dennis :slight_smile:]

It’s hard to answer you without specific question. To which kind of threat model are you thinking about?

Understandable. Unfortunately, it’s a little difficult to formulate a specific question on such a broad based topic, but I’ll give it a shot?

If one pod has not updated to a newest version which may contain an important security patch, by federation this pod is still connected to your pod and everyone else’s pod. This leads way to several vulnerabilities among the federation network (if my understand is correct, for which it very well may not be). I will list a couple of potential vulnerabilities below, but please note that they may or may not be either valid or alone.

• Cross Site Scripting: If one federated pod is on a previous version that somehow allows XSS vulnerabilities, it may be possible to affect the federation drastically by introducing new vulnerabilities, via XSS, which turn into other vulnerabilities that are not XSS based (i.e. database entries which, when federated, could potentially muck up the federation databases)