Setup a planet for community blogging

Hi all,

this thread follows this on concerning the possibility to open a planet to aggregate blog posts witten by the community.

I studied a bit some software and I found 3 :

• the original Planet software which run on Python (demo),
  • the Venus fork which also run on Python (demo),
  • the Pluto fork which seem to be written in Ruby (demo).

The Venus and Pluto fork demos are very ugly but they seem to have a templating system (e.g : Pluto’s). This will allow us to have a coherent design with the foundation site but also mean more work to setup the planet on starting.

IMHO, Pluto is the best choice as it is written in Ruby. If anybody as already use it before, or even setup a planet before, I’m open to any suggestions. I will try to setup a Pluto server on my computer as soon as I have it back to make a feedback.

What are your opinions on this subject ?

Note: This discussion was imported from Loomio. Click here to view the original discussion.

FWIW, we already have a working planet source, but it’s not merged into the project site yet.

From: https://www.loomio.org/d/dXFfls2c/new-blog-for-diaspora?page=1#comment-388652

Good ! Where can I find it ?

Setup a planet for community blogging

In any case, this has already been passed in a previous vote… (which I also linked to on the recent thread).

In any case, this has already been passed in a previous vote… (which I also linked to on the recent thread).

I know that. I’m not asking if we should do that but how you want me to do that. :wink:

@dennisschubert says we have a working planet source, just telle where I can find it and I’ll try to set up something usable.

@dennisschubert can you merge the code in? Does it need anything or is it practically ready to use? If blogs don’t appear, we can always remove it.

Will give it a shot today, I’ve got some spare time. :slight_smile:

Which version of Ruby does it run on ?