Add-Ons / Extensions / Plug-ins

sorry I am not a programmer but I wonder if social networks could allow the developments of extensions, add-ons or plug ins … so the features could keep growing freely … ?? I would like knowing how to express this idea in a more technical language but don’t know how… so I just put this “message in a bottle” just in case…
cheers and thanks

Note: This discussion was imported from Loomio. Click here to view the original discussion.

Anybody can fork diaspora and add features on their own pod. If properly maintained other pods can merge those additions into their fork and so on. If properly developed and meaningful for the majority of our userbase we can pull that code into the main codebase. This is already happening.

I don’t think we’re at a state where we need to restrict to a maintainable feature set and thus throw out otherwise popular features, so I see no need for a formal plugin system. Especially once we got a proper Web-API.

Honestly, it may just be better to develop web apps that make use of a Diaspora API.

The only feature I see to make a usefull usage of a plugin system is commercial Facebook-like applications, to which I’m definitly opposed.

However, it might actually be usefull to extensively document the API and the core code’s file to make the code easier to understand for the newcommers like me.

thanks for sharing well I don’t have a clue on programming that’s why I was just truing to share the idea… so not sure on what implications would have been able to have extensions and if it was technicallly feasible … but what I mainly would like seeing is having lots of controls over settings. for example I have posted another post related to “features” like for example
having the chance to set scheduled times to participate in a group or community … or for example been able to join groups of interests … etc…
in few words having far more power and features than the ones that fb offers … hope it makes sense…