Adding groups as a social feature

would it be possible for Diaspora to adopt groups like Facebook did.following tags is a good start but having groups would helped specific interests share things in group spaces instead of one public of aspect timeline. is this possible or not really interesting for devs or the community i want to start self taught programmers group but there is no specific group interface it takes more steps and tags

Thereā€™s an existing discussion about a ā€˜groupsā€™ feature: Feature Discussion: Groups

Unfortunately I canā€™t remember how to merge discussions; hopefully @denschub can help.

This feature is not something that anyone would oppose; however, there are more crucial things that the people who spend most time developing the software are focusing on. Itā€™s up to community members who really want this feature to build it. So far, no one has done that.

1 Like

i can look at trying it. my friend jsut told aspects does this is this correct?

@goob i realized that i may have misinterpreted what aspects where. can aspects replaces the use f groups or are they entirely different to mimic google plus circles

was aspects created the replicate groups at basic level like ostatus

Aspects are the equivalent of Googles ā€˜circlesā€™, but they donā€™t mimic circles because diaspora* had aspects first, and Google introduced circles a year later.

Aspects are there to aid privacy, so you can determine exactly who will be able to read and interact with each message you post. Theyā€™re not intended to replace a groups feature, but you can use them to sort of get around the lack of a groups feature: if a group of you each create an aspect and put every other member of the group into it, then when one of you posts to that ā€˜groupā€™ aspect, youā€™ve sort of got a group. One thing, though: because of the privacy element, anyone added to the ā€˜groupā€™ at a later date wonā€™t be able to see any posts created before they joined the group.