Any appetite for pod deployment on docker-compose and/or AWS?

I’ve recently found out about diaspora*. I think it’s a brilliant idea and I would like to start using it, host a pod and contribute. Looking at the deployment options, I thought it’d be a good idea to provide a way to run a pod locally using docker-compose (although I believe there’s already something in the main repo), and also be able to host a pod in AWS, for higher availability nd redundancy. I’ve not put much thought into it yet but the plan would still be to keep it simple and easy to deploy, probably involving Fargate, RDS, ACM, Route53 deployed via CloudFormation or Terraform.

I am an experienced DevOps Engineer and could start working on this in my free time and deliver something fairly quickly, but before I start I would like to know if there’s an appetite for it, or if everything I’ve just mentioned has already been considered or even done :slight_smile: If it has, I’d also like to contribute if help is needed.

Thanks!

I’m in the same boat, except I’m looking to host from my personal server rather than running it out on AWS. If your looking for a docker compose file @kohen has been building docker images for diaspora for over 5 years and has published a docker-compose.yml file on gitlab. https://gitlab.koehn.com/docker/diaspora/-/tree/master/compose

I’m digging through it myself atm and am a little overwhelmed by the plethora of configuration options. Good luck with AWS though, I’m using ECS for another project. I think you may run into issues trying to use RDS since this project uses postgre & redis afaik (just going off the docker compose file).

We do provide a Docker-setup for running a development installation, which you can access via script/diaspora-dev. Run it without any parameters or script/diaspora-dev help to get details.