Develop on OSX - missing steps (ca-certificate)

Hi there,
I would say that I am an advanced beginner with ruby / rails dev, but I am mission some steps during set up a development environment ion OSX (10.14 in my case).
I went through the wiki pages and adapted the config/diaspora.yml. But on the certificate_authorities step I struggle:
What to fill in on OSX? What is a bundle? Can I export some CA from keychain?

The setup - documentation for OSX is somewhat missing in some steps. I do not plan to start a pod, I just like to start on my dev-machine.

There’s a stackoverflow about this issue I found after a quick search.

As far as I’m aware, you shouldn’t need to do anything with certificate authorities for a development environment. CAs should only be needed for secure communication between nodes, which for most development work isn’t necessary – unless the development you’re doing involves federation.

I take it you’ve followed the installation instructions for Mac OS 10.13. If you haven’t followed that step-by-step, it’s likely you’ve done something wrong at some point.

Note that there is a not very obvious link after Bundler installation to Notes On Installing and Running Diaspora. You need to follow the instructions on that page to complete the installation, but to take note of the exceptions for Mac OS listed below that link on the Mac OS 10.13 installation page.

Bunder is a gem manager for Ruby. Once installed with sudo gem install bundler, you install (and later update) the gems you need to run diaspora* with bin/bundle install --full-index.

I’m not a dev, so I’d better leave it there for people more competent than I to help. But I hope it helps you find the missing steps from what you have so far done.

If you’ve noted any differences there are between the installation instructions for OS 10.13 and what you had to do to install on 10.14, you could usefully help to create an installation guide for 10.14.

1 Like