Getting involved

Hi,

I’d like to get involved in supporting the project. I’m not a coder, my skills are community building, education/support and project management/coordination, all in the context of open source. Who can I connect with to see where I can be useful?

3 Likes

What do you wish to do, exactly? If you give an example I could give you an focused answer. Generally, the most critical aspects are to get new developers and new users. If you could spread the word in both, then you would do a lot.

Anyway, you should talk to Dennis or Goob for details if you wish

I want to apply my skills in a way that will contribute to the success of the project. With my background there are several different areas I could contribute to. I’m not sure the current state of the team so not sure where there are gaps to fill. But to at least create a smaller target:

1. I’d like to be involved in overall strategy - I have been a Mozilla volunteer with good connections inside the organisation since before Firefox. I have strong opinions about what went well and what didn’t. I believe in holding onto your ideals, but being pragmatic about how to get there, not by compromising them, but by adapting based on the situation you’re in and accepting human nature when working with both developers and users. I’m a “systems thinker” in the sense that I don’t just see a support ticket as an interaction with a single user, I see how it connects to marketing, QA, engineering. A single user doc doesn’t live in a bubble, it is part of a catalogue that needs to feel cohesive and easy to navigate. A single tweet gets lost in the ether where a coordinated push amplifies the message. I’m not happy working on the single, I want to be part of the whole.