Linkedin and facebook crossposting

Dear all,
hereby a suggestion to implement Linkedin and Facebook crossposting, like is available now on some pods for Twitter, Tumblr, etc. I understand from some other posts FB used to be available, and now isn’t anylonger, i seem to remember that has something to do with their own policies, so perhaps FB is not possible. But Linkedin would still be a huge one: it is a massive professional network. In my opinion, Diaspora can replace all 3 in 1 go (i’m a new enthusiastic user, i really like the interface and the ideas behind it), but the more crossposting there is, the more useful it is until we get everyone to use this (since I cannot NOT post on Linkedin and Twitter for work stuff). May also really help in getting people to use this.
I am not a programmer but happy to help with testing implementation etc.
best,
Rik

You’re correct; and it’s unlikely ever to be possible again in the future, for diaspora* or any other network, because of Facebook’s actions.

I can’t imagine there being any traction for cross-posting to LinkedIn, but let’s see what others say.

3 Likes

I’d love to enhance the cross-posting too. Right now I do a bunch of it manually, unfortunately. My big cross posting nice to haves would be: Facebook (can’t do it any more), Twitter (already does it), LinkedIn (doesn’t do it), Mastodon (doesn’t do it). The first thing I worked on when I started developing for Diaspora was actually the Twitter and Facebook existing crossposting features. I haven’t looked into LinkedIn’s API or the Mastodon API (or limited ActivityPub) for either of those though.

hi all - thanks Hank!
i’ve been reading up a bit about ‘social media management applications’, eg
https://www.popsci.com/post-to-all-social-media-accounts-at-once
and