Local setup for testing federation

I’m a new developer here. I just went through the setup guide and things are going well. I followed the development setup instructions and I have an active server now running. The guide was mostly straight forward but it leaves off at this “so now I have a server” place. Before I start developing I want to play around with this but I don’t know what best practices are for some very important things. Specifically:

I have this node running on localhost on a VM on an isolated machine. Is it okay to create accounts on it where their names are going to look like @127.0.0.1 ?

More importantly is it okay to interact with production pods? If not which pods am I supposed to be interacting with for development and testing purposes?

I may have some more follow up questions as I explore more development resources, but at this point I’m going to hold off on interacting with the rest of the ecosystem until I know what the rules of the road are.

Thanks!

You can create accounts for development using whatever hostname you want to, as long as it resolves to your local machine. I, for example, have set up my local DNS to resolv any hostname with the .local TLD to resolv to localhost, which means I can run pods at poda.local and podb.local for local federation testing, for example.

While you technically could interact with actual pods, it doesn’t make much sense. If you’d deliver a post, we’d try to fetch the profile, and well, fetching from 127.0.0.1 does not end well for production pods. So you’d end up nowhere. Even if delivery would work, it still would be a one-way-only connection, as you’d never get something back.