Video Upload Support

Hello, i am new to the fediverse, i’ve been trying many options in the fediverse and Diaspora seems great! Great simple UI with dark mode, aspects is an awesome feat.But no vídeo upload? Why? And links to peertube or lbry or some self hosted file will not play embeded.

This is frustantig, an awesome social media platform, but no video upload. Implement video upload, and if possible with access to the drive media, like hubzilla.

Thanks in advance.

I suggest using the search feature the next time, these things have been discussed a lot already. The tl;dr:

• Video hosting and distribution is a pain in the butt. Not only have to provide a lot of storage space and bandwidth, you only have to transcode videos into different sizes and formats to make them work across all devices and internet connections. This is completely out of our scope. There still is a feature request open, but quite frankly, that’s simply unlikely to happen.
  • “Embedding” something means to load interactive content into your diaspora* stream. One side effect with the current implementation is that any malicious entity could also a piece of JavaScript that reads your stream, your contacts, your account settings, … and whatnot. We’re really comfortable that YouTube is not going to do that, but there is no guarantee that your self-hosted whateversoftware won’t do that. Moreover, in the current implementation, we explicitly allow-list allowed domains for embeds - and for self-hosted software, that’s literally impossible. There is a planned refactoring around embedding stuff into its own context - at which point we could do a lot more automatic embeds.