iOS App for Diaspora

Hi
I am new to Diaspora. However, I am an iOS developer and would like to help in building an iOS app for Diaspora, if there is already a project in development pls let me know, otherwise I can create it from scratch.

3 Likes

Hi amr and thanks for you interest for diaspora*!

There is no official work on an iOS application at the moment. If you want to play with the diaspora* API you need to do it from scratch. However please note that even if the specifications are well defined, only the authenticate part is already shipped in master so running on production pods. And unfortunately as there are only volunteers we cannot guarantee a delivery date.

Hi Flaburgan

Thank you. Iā€™ll try to start doing that. Anybody in the community who would like to help is welcome. Is there a slack workspace for diaspora?

We use IRC. You can join #diaspora-dev on freenode.

Why donā€™t we use slack better?

Hi @amraboelela, and thanks a lot. A working iOS app would be fantastic. The core project decided to focus on a web interface that works well on mobile devices rather than trying to create apps for each mobile OS as a better use of resources. Several Android apps have been created to various stages of completion by community developers, but so far no iOS app.

As Fla says, some work has already been completed on an API and some is in progress. Iā€™m not sure of the best place to get an overview of what state it is at, although you can look at the list of issues with the API tag and list of PRs mentioning ā€˜APIā€™ to get an idea. Probably chatting to the core team on IRC will give you the clearest picture!

Good luck, and thanks.

As a general question, it seems like I have to download the code locally which will behave like a separate pod, and those pods are already communicating with each other using an API, why canā€™t we leverage this same inter-pod API for the client also?

I tried the IRC room and there are people but they donā€™t talk or reply!